Links
Comment on page

Encryption & Data Security

In this article, you will get all information about encryption and data security in Xopero ONE. Encryption is recommended to be used while working with sensitive data. Xopero ONE uses the AES algorithm to encrypt backups. To enable encryption, go to advanced settings while creating a backup plan.
If you create a backup plan once without encryption settings configured, there is no option to enable it. If you want to enable encryption in an already existing backup plan you need to create a new one. You can easily clone your backup plan while editing. Encryption is the process of converting plain and open text or files into an encrypted form. For the operation to be possible at all, an encryption key is needed to make the information secret and send it in an unreadable form.

Encryption

To enable encryption switch the checkbox in a backup plan's advanced settings.
Set the encryption level from the drop-down list
  • Low (AES CBC 128) - AES algorithm operating in CBC (Cipher-Block Chaining) mode with the encryption key of 128 bits.
  • Medium (AES CBC 192) - operates with the same mode as in the Low setting but with a longer encryption key - 192 bits.
  • High (AES CBC 256) - with this option selected AES algorithm will work in CBC (Cipher-Block Chaining) mode with the encryption key of 256 bits
If you encrypt image-level backup with a high level of encryption (256bit key length) there is no option to recover these data using iSCSI protocol using iSCSI target recovery option - no way to granular data access.
Set a password from the safe password manager or create a new one

Known problem

The ability to enable encryption in the backup plan is disabled.
Encryption is disabled
If you create a backup plan once without encryption settings configured, there is no option to enable it. But you can easily clone your backup plan while editing (Plans tab -> Edit plan button on the right side).
Cloning the backup plan
Using the clone button, the plan will be cloned 1:1. You just have to enter a new plan name. After cloning a plan, you can deactivate the old plan's schedule (by check the plan and select Deactivate plan from the top menu) or delete it immediately.
Note that when deleting the old plan, you will be asked if you want to delete data. If you don't delete them, you will have to delete them manually in the future.